Cyclocross Thank You’s

I am so blessed to be surrounded by so much support and encouragement over the past few months as I have trained and raced ‘cross this winter, starting from racing just for fun with not-so-great results, to my best personal race to date.

I want to acknowledge the people, sponsors, and products that helped get me and the rest of the Mars Hill Cycling team to cyclocross nationals and get that team gold!

Spin-Tech Training — I can’t say enough about Spin-Tech. They are just awesome! Without Spin-Tech I really doubt that I would have made it to two national championships, upgraded from category B to A within a few weeks, or have the confidence to race at the level I’m at, all within six months of starting to ride for Mars Hill Cycling and seriously start training.

Thanks to O’Neill for the heart-throbbing, lung-bursting, muscle-screaming workouts and to Frank for the refreshing, feel-good about riding workouts! Spin-Tech also loaned us two Scott cross bikes (one for me, one for Mariske, they also served as pit bikes during the guys race), and trainers to warm-up on. Thank you so much for the equipment!

DeFeet — DeFeet has become one of my go-to favorites for anything wool-related. As a picky sock-wearer, I’ve been delighted with everything I’ve tried, be it the thin Wooleator or the thick Woolie Boolie (This is my fave sock). They also make amazing gloves what can be worn as a liner or on their own. At nats, I wore the glove by itself and it was perfect for keeping my fingers warm in the 34 degree temps of my race while offering a little cushioning for all the bouncing over ruts. The arm warmers also are amazing, warm but perfectly regulating body temps. I think everyone needs to have a pair of DeFeet armwarmers at least!

Raw Revolution is always present at Mars Hill Cycling events. They are a great sponsor and make organic raw food bars. We got to try the new Super Greens bar in Tropical Banana. I loved it! While I don’t care for some of the flavors with more nuts (it’s just me, I don’t like peanuts or cashews in any form, no matter how healthy), I really like the banana. A couple of these after racing are the perfect thing to to start the body on recovery and fill that space between racing and eating a real meal.

A huge thanks to our hosts for the week, Brian and Carolyn Cassel. They were more than welcoming, and it was so amazing having a house to come back to after racing. I felt so at home, and Brian even gathered a group of their friends to cheer for us as we raced!

And of course, thanks to our awesome coach, Hugh! Without his hard work, direction and encouragement, we would not have made it to the top of the podium!

And thank you to Mars Hill College for supporting the team!

And check out all our other sponsors who have donated funds, gear, and their time to help get us where we are… National Cyclocross Champs and the Number One ranked DII team in the nation!

And I can’t forget my wonderful husband, who encourages me and puts up with me taking off for days to race with my team. I love you Kyle!

I’m so excited for what 2012 brings, I’ve definitely had an amazing start to the year. With such wonderful support, an awesome team, incredible sponsors, I’m only looking to go up!

Leave a Reply

