Ahh…

Wow. That’s about all I can say about the last few weeks. Since August hit there’s been a constant stream of activities, events, schedule changes, and adjustments. But it’s all good. I wouldn’t mind just settling into things right now, and that will come as August ends and September jumps into the game.

My birthday was on the 7th. 23 years old, prime and super fine! I don’t feel 23, I think learning (and being surrounded by youngsters) is keeping me youthful or something. I celebrated with dinner one night, and a ride followed by dinner and beer on the actual day. It was so great being surrounded by my favorite people and enjoying the feelings of summer.

And then school started! I actually really enjoy learning. I need that structure and stimulation in my life. Not that I’m planning on being a career student or anything, but I do appreciate knowledge. It’s been an adjustment since I am commuting about 40 mins to and from school. I also have to get up early, which is super lame. I’m enjoying all my classes, even economics, which is going to be my difficult class this semester.

I’m continuing to train for cycling. I had the privilege of getting power-tested last week at Spin-Tech, a local training center who helps sponsor the Mars Hill Cycling Team. They’ve graciously given me a six week training session, which I started today. It felt great and I cannot wait to see how much I can increase my stamina and power in the next few weeks.

I’m a little sad to see “summer” go, but I know there’s room for a few more magical swims, impromptu picnics, and bonfires.

Leave a Reply

